Click image to listen.

We recommend Black Music in Europe: A Hidden History, now in its series 4 on BBC Radio 4. DJ Marfox speaks of his art, craft & experience, in this episode looking at black music in Europe in the aftermath of the fall of the Berlin Wall.

“Clarke Peters’ concluding three-part series reveals stories from the history of black music in Europe over the last four decades. From the collapse of the Eastern Bloc to the rise of multiculturalism, this was a time that saw old walls come tumbling down, while new forms of technology and new styles of music were all emerging at a rapid pace. In this programme, Clarke looks at the music of black Europe in the aftermath of the fall of the Berlin Wall. We hear from Jeff Mills and Dimitri Hegemann on Detroit techno in Berlin, and electronic pioneers Shut Up and Dance on the rave era in London. Rita Maia and DJ Marfox talk about the Batida scene in Lisbon. Produced by Tom Woolfenden”

Released On: 18 Aug 2021. Available for over a year.


Click image to read the full feature and listen to the podcast.

01. What have you been up to recently?

Exploring things more, and getting new ideas for my music.

02. What was your route into music?

Passion and curiosity.

03. What is it that drives you to make music, still today?

It is something that has been growing inside of me and if I stop making music, I am not being true to myself.

04. How has the lockdown period been for you?

They were difficult periods, but they also served as a learning experience for many situations in my life.

05. You’ve got a new album coming out on Príncipe soon. Can you tell us anything about it

About the new record, we can say that there is a great evolution in the overall production and different styles.

06. When and where did you record this mix?

I recorded the mix on June 24 at the house of my partner, Dj Lima.

07. What can the listener expect?

Something out of the ordinary.

08. How did you go about choosing the tracks that you’ve included?

I chose the most recent tracks I made including the ones I like the most.

09. How does it compare to what we might hear you play in a club?

For this one, I focused totally on my original productions and I’m sure the way I mix the tracks.

10. What’s next on your horizon?

The vibes of people listening to my music, no doubt!